The Palisades Optimist Club operates in accordance with its Bylaws, which are reviewed annually. Club decisions are made by its Board of Directors. The Board includes the president, secretary, treasurer, vice president, past president and up to six elected directors. The Club operates as a not-for-profit organization exclusively for charitable and educational purposes as set forth in Section 501(c)(4) of the IRS Code.

Officers for 2019-2020

  • President Rick DeWeese
  • Treasurer Sumako Cohrs
  • Secretary Stuart Kaiser
  • Past President Richard Wilken

Board of Directors for 2019-2020 

  • Ben Adel
  • Sumako Cohrs
  • Rick DeWeese
  • Stuart Kaiser
  • Chuck McGlothlin
  • Hayden Roush
  • Peter Scolney
  • Geoff Shelden
  • William Skinner
  • Richard Wilken

PALISADES OPTIMIST FOUNDATION. The Palisades Optimist Foundation was established in 1998 by Palisades Optimist Club members as a 501(c)(3) charitable non-profit organization. The Foundation has established a permanent trust fund to provide annual scholarships and makes other grants to the local community. The Foundation is partially funded by the Palisades Optimist Club along with individual donations from Optimists in the Palisades Club, non-Optimist donors and the Palisades Will Rogers 5/10K Race Foundation. More information on the Palisades Optimist Foundation and how to support the programs is on its website at: